top of page

July 2024 Class Offerings

Beowulf Picture.jpg

J. R. Skelton, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Beowulf: Poetry Forming Christian Heroes

Achilles, Aeneas, King Arthur…The story of Beowulf is the story of humanity in a long line of heroes; an epic story about foundations and the struggle between good and evil. It is an eternal story that has been told throughout human history, in every culture. Why is it that this particular recounting of man’s struggle against evil has so heavily influenced author J.R.R Tolkien? Why is this such an important landmark of English art and culture?  How is this poem still relevant to mankind today, especially to Christians? How can Beowulf provide a guide to becoming Christian heroes today?

Tuesdays in July 2024  -  Instructor: Mr. Andrew Kays

4.jpg
Moses.jpg

Gustave Doré, Bible Illustrations engraving; 1866

Law and Thomas Aquinas

In this course we will explore the basis of law, not only laws made by legislatures, but also the natural and the divine law. What is law? Who has the right to make a law? What ought we to do if a law is unjust? These are the questions we will seek to answer as we read through Thomas Aquinas’ Treatise on Law. 

Wednesdays in July 2024  -  Instructor: Mr. Luke Sherman

Beowulf  Class Structure

Four online class sessions focusing on reading Beowulf and discussing how the Anglo-Saxon poem provides a guide for Christian heroism in the modern world. Discussions will also revolve around the role which poetry plays in man’s search for truth and beauty, its place in salvation history, and in communicating virtue for modern audiences.

Classes will comprise both lecture style and Socratic discussion. Students can expect small reading quizzes.

 

Paper:  Students may optionally write a paper at the end of the course, according to guidelines given by the instructor, and may expect feedback that will help them work towards college writing.

Suggested grade levels:          11th and 12th Grades

Fees:

  • Non-MMA Students:         $80 per student / $70 each add'l

  • MMA Students:                  $70 per student / $60 each add'l

Course requirements:

Beowulf: A New Verse Translation

by Seamus Heaney

 (Comparable verse translations are also acceptable)

Class Dates:  Tuesday evenings July 9th, 16th, 23th, 30th, 2024

Class Times:  5:00pm PST (7:00pm CST, 8:00pm EST)

Classes are held via Zoom (link provided prior to first class)

Questions? Email Mr. Kays at AKaysHumanities@protonmail.com

Aquinas  Class Structure

Four online class sessions focusing on reading The Treatise on Law and discussing how Aquinas provides timeless insight into the nature of law. Discussions will revolve around the four kinds of law articulated by Aquinas, namely, Eternal, Natural, Human, and Divine, and the way each plays a role in the Christian life.

Classes will comprise both lecture style and Socratic discussion. Students may expect small reading quizzes and/or assignments.

 

Paper:  Students may optionally write a paper at the end of the course, according to guidelines given by the instructor, and may expect feedback that will help them work towards college writing.

Suggested grade levels:          11th and 12th Grades

Fees:

  • Non-MMA Students:         $80 per student / $70 each add'l

  • MMA Students:                  $70 per student / $60 each add'l

Course requirements:

Treatise on Law

translated by Alfred J. Freddoso

(ISBN: 978-1-58731-880-1)

Note: Students are welcome to use translations they have at home as well or to use the free online Summa at New Advent. All assignments will be given by question and article so different page numbers will not be a problem.

Class Dates:  Wednesday evenings July 3rd, 10th, 17th, 24th, 2024

Class Times:  4:00pm PST (6:00pm CST, 7:00pm EST)

Classes are held via Zoom (link provided prior to first class)

Questions? Email Mr. Sherman at LShermanHumanities@proton.me

bottom of page